Hello world!

I enjoy my Coffee, particularly a skinny latte mid-afternoon.  I like to have my latte warmer than is considered politically correct as I want it to last for as long as possible.  That warm glass in my hand is always a link to some other pleasant activity be it reading, chatting, observing others or just simply gazing out the cafe window and day-dreaming.

But it didn’t quite work out that way today as my TV recorder is practically full – no room for tonight’s downloads. It’s my own fault – there is always so much I’d like to watch but never enough time.

The earliest recording was the film  South Solitary so I sat down with a home-made black coffee to watch it. Seven people on a lonely lighthouse island off the Australian coast in 1927.  Circumstances reduced it to just two, each with their own personal and post WW1 problems.  I found it a sheer delight, the delight of simple story telling, added to which is some beautiful photography.

I feel sorry for Margaret , one of the movie reviewers on At The Movies on ABC TV.  And I quote – ” David, I actually wasn’t as impressed by this as you are and I watched it and I went, “When is the second act going to kick into this film?” And like it never happens. It’s like it goes forever, this monotony of life on the island.”

Hey, Margaret, those people were healing, they were finding a better life than they were expecting, and healing like theirs doesn’t happen rapidly; we needed to see the various strands which led up to that healing.  It’s a story of hope for all of us.  I just have one problem – I want to watch the film again so I can’t delete it from the Recorder

A parting gift but no sorrow as the future is bright with anticipation.

One thought on “Hello world!

Leave a Reply

