The Quiet Girl by Peter Hoeg A Sense of Sound

The other day I started reading   The Quiet Girl by Peter Hoeg.  I had seen it on a library display shelf and while not  recognizing  the author’s name I did remember reading  Smilla’s Sense of Snow, which is also mentioned on the front cover- a subtle prompt to the memory to make us choose this book to read.

What a strange book this is turning out to be.  I’m having trouble grasping  the story-line but  Peter Hoeg’s  fantasy-cum-thriller really does make you think of the place of sound and music  in our more ordinary  lives.   So when it rained I closed my eyes and listened.  Usually it’s just heavy rain or light rain, but this time I found I could focus on the different components of the rain sound.  There was the tiled roof overhead which was a different sound to the noisier rain on the flat roof behind me and a quieter bounce on the flat roof in front of me . The back door was open and there were different sounds from the rain hitting a variety of textures, each to its own musical note,  all blending into something that experience told me was heavy rain sound

Then the next day I sat in a café with a book and a coffee but this time I didn’t open the book straight away.  I just listened, and I was listening to sounds that wouldn’t normally register with me.  I would be so absorbed in my book that I would be oblivious to any noise around me.

So what did I hear ?  Nearby four ladies talked in voices which had a strong contralto emphasis while from further away came a man’s voice, one with less variation and in a tenor tone. It was providing a fairly steady line, an X-axis  with the female voices forming  curves dashing up and down through it.  You could have written music to it.  Question.  Answer. Laugh. Anecdote.  Cup hitting saucer. Chair moving on floor. Little cough. Waitress voice. The beat came from the softened, amplified, background music ; the tympani from the soft  kitchen clatter and underneath it all the muffled rise and fall of traffic noises from behind the glass windows. These sounds weren’t intrusive, But  they WERE there. Perhaps we need some café music to fit them, a Cafe Coffee Suite, with different movements as the customers change,  Disney handled rain music beautifully with Drip, Drip, Drop Little April Shower in his film Bambi.

So apart from the music how much can I learn about Peter Hoeg the person from this book?  What sort of person is Peter Hoeg?  I would say completely different to my last read, David Mitchell,  who tells his tales with an imaginative use of language and sense of  fun. But I read David Mitchell in his native English whereas I rely on a translator to read a Peter Hoeg story. I wonder if this makes a difference.

Nevertheless I  thank you Peter Hoeg.  I’ll do my best to understand your story.

2 thoughts on “The Quiet Girl by Peter Hoeg A Sense of Sound

  1. G’Day! Lazycoffees,
    Along the same lines,, ok well i have to write an essay on how Anne and Peter form a bond of sorts and i can’t figure out how to end this sentance! can you please help!

    In this sanctuary of sorts two young adolescents, Peter Van Daan, a quiet solitary boy, and Anne Frank, a loud unruly young girl, _______. Even though Peter is reclusive, and Anne is rambunctious, they share a bond formed out of childhood rebellion and plain loneliness.

    it kinda needs to flow into that next sentance as well…
    thanks!
    Catch you again soon!

Leave a Reply

