The Humble Handkerchief

There are the big things in life which give you much pleasure and then there are the little things.  The morning shower, having nice clean clothes to get dressed in and a drawer containing a pile of freshly  pressed handkerchiefs. Spots, striped, plain, check or floral, which will I have today ? And unless its a morning where great haste is needed it will be one that tones with the clothes I am wearing.

Pressed HankiesOr are you one of these people who use those slimy little squares of disintegrating paper which I find so repulsive.  People look so attractive clutching their bundle of slime, trying to find a dry corner to use. . A quick look around, There’s nowhere I can get rid of it.  Shove it back in the pocket.  What happens  when you toss it in the washing machine without remembering to  to check the pockets.  A basketful of snowflaked clothes.

But tell me, don’t celebrities ever have a problem with a nose ?  There they go, sashaying down the red carpet,  held together with double-sided tape and a swathe or two of fabric, and absolutely  nowhere to hide a hanky or a tissue and not a handbag in sight   What do they do.  I couldn’t imagine leaving the house without a drip catcher or two about my body.  Tucked in the top of a stocking ?:  In my knickers ?  Oh what a terrible thought. So where has Miranda Kerr stashed her hanky, her tissue, her boogie rag, her snot catcher.  How I do envy her – I mean with her dry nose and  being able to leave the house without a hanky, nothing else.

miranda-kerr-makes-sexy-entrance-with-plunging-neckline-at-vanity-fair-oscars-party-2014-01Meanwhile, pegged on the clothesline, small collections of dainty pieces of lawn (a fine all-cotton fabric) are  santizing in the sunshine while I sit in my favourite spot on the deck.

Bench on back deck

Oh where, or where

Has my hanky hidden

Oh where, oh where can it be,

It is oh so soft

Ready  for my bidding

Oh where oh where can it be.

 

Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

3 thoughts on “The Humble Handkerchief

  1. I’ve seen old sepia photos of hankies pinned to the bib of overalls so that they don’t get lost. I wonder when that stopped happening.
    PS I’m with you. Give me a small piece of lawn rather than a tissue any day.

Leave a Reply

